About the Archdiocese of Seattle

Serving more than a million Catholics in Western Washington, the Archdiocese of Seattle includes 174 parishes and missions and 72 schools, with over 60 ministries and more than 500 weekly Masses celebrated in eight languages. From Canada to Oregon and the Cascade Mountains to the Pacific Ocean, the archdiocese covers a large area in Washington State.  Learn more about our bishops, history and the Catholic faith in Western Washington.

Meet our bishops

The Archdiocese of Seattle is served by Archbishop Paul D. Etienne.  There are two auxiliary bishops:  Bishop Eusebio Elizondo and Bishop Daniel Mueggenborg.

Key Initiatives

The Archdiocese of Seattle has several key initiatives underway that rely on the input of lay leaders and formal councils. Explore these initiatives below.

What we believe

And common questions about the Catholic faith.

Looking for someone or something?

History and archives

When missionary priests arrived in the 1830s, could they have envisioned today’s archdiocese? Read more about our local church history.

Link to more info

Search for historical documents, sacramental records, photos and more in the Archives of the Archdiocese of Seattle.

Link to more info

Response to abuse

Our commitment to action and transparency to address the abuse crisis in the Archdiocese of Seattle.